Thursday, June 5, 2008

Michael Antonelli Quartet

Micahel Antonelli, sax
Peter Nobile, bass
Tim Herrmann, drums
Kevin Golden, guitar

are giving out with

1 Golden Opportunity
2 Well You Should
3 Only For You
4 Bossa Que Passa
5 Woody-N-Me
6 Waltz For Lefty
7 Before You Walk Away
8 Tell Me Now
9 VC Blues
10 Spring Feathers
11 Three Halves

and it's, to quote their own press release, "11 swinging original straight ahead jazz pieces" all written by the sax man. He knows how to put fire into a traditional sound. You think you're in a club when you hear the drum solo on "Golden Opportunity" and "Well You Should" just makes you want to dance with its simple melodic wag. Had this man lived in the '40s some of his pieces would've been golden oldies long before now.

Their quiet sound is a welcome relief from all the experimentation a good jazz lover like myself has to go thru to hear the gems. While smooth is my favorite flavor of the jazz world, and you would not classify Michael as such, this is 2nd, because you want to get up and do something while he's saxing you up.

I enjoyed it. You will do, unless you're dead.

No comments: